The First Book I Truly Loved ♥

Anyone who really knows me knows of my many different loves in life, i.e: story-telling, modeling, the environment, photographs, animals, family, friends, dance, hiking, traveling, fashion and of course film (amongst others)! Some of my passions have been inspired when I was a small child. Others as I grew older and more self-aware. The rest I was flat out born with I swear!

One of those big inspirations in my life has actually been Harry Potter. I was a child who really struggled to learn how to read and I honestly loathed it. Learning didn’t come easy to me so reading was nothing different. It took a while but my doctor finally found a way of helping my focus and lo and behold I was able to read without distraction. The first book I read that I truly enjoyed reading was the first Harry Potter book and I was hooked. I have many other favourite books (To Kill A Mockingbird, Peter Pan, The Giver) but Harry Potter just has that nostalgic feeling for me that it is undoubtedly at the top of my number one favourites.


When I found out they were making the books into movies I was thrilled and to be honest a little sad because I wanted to be Hermione. I ultimately love the entire cast they chose for each role. Each actor is as I had pictured their character. In my mind they could not have done better. (Also happy that they did not “Americanize” it and have Hollywood actors playing the roles.) The only thing I miss from the books being in the movies is the characters of Peeves the Poltergeist because he was wonderfully irritating! Everything else, in my humble opinion, was as good as it gets.

The real reason I’m writing this though is because the final film is coming out. I remember the excitement and slight sadness when the final book came out. This time though there won’t be anymore books or movies to look forward to. All great things must come to an end and yes it is bittersweet. I’m so excited for the last movie though. It’s my favourite book in the series and the first part of the movie was amazing but I’m really looking forward to seeing the second part and everything being tied up in the end.

The big joke is that when I go to London, England in September I’ll be bringing home Ron Weasley as my souvenir (I’m actually not joking because I’d love to! hehe :P).

Some of my favourite quotes:

{“I should have made my meaning plainer,” said Professor McGonagall, turning at last to look at Umbridge directly in the eyes. “He has achieved high marks in all Defense Against the Dark Arts tests set by a competent teacher.” – McGonagall}

{“You have a habit of turning up in unexpected places, Potter, and you are very rarely there for no good reason.” – Snape}

{“Meant ter turn him into a pig, but I suppose he was so much like a pig anyway there wasn’t much left ter do.” – Hagrid}

{“I’ll distract them all,” Luna said. “Use your Cloak.” And before he [Harry] could say a word, she had cried, “Oooh, look, a Blibbering Humdinger!” and pointed out the window. – Luna Lovegood}

{“Hey, look – Harry’s got a Weasley sweater, too!” Fred and George were wearing blue sweaters, one with a large yellow ‘F’ on it, the other a ‘G.’
“Harry’s is better than ours, though,” said Fred, holding up Harry’s sweater. “She obviously makes more of an effort if you’re not family.”
“Why aren’t you wearing yours, Ron?” George demanded. “Come on, get it on, they’re lovely and warm.”
“I hate maroon,” Ron moaned half-heartedly as he pulled it over his head.
“You haven’t got a letter on yours,” George observed. “I suppose she thinks you don’t forget your name. But we’re not stupid – we know we’re called Gred and Forge.” – Fred and George}

{“But you’re Muggles! We must have a drink! What’s that you’ve got there? Oh, you’re changing Muggle money. Molly, look!”– Arthur Weasley}

{“Wandering around at midnight, ickle Firsties? Tut, tut, tut. Naughty, naughty, you’ll get caughty.” – Peeves the Poltergeist}

{“NOT MY DAUGHTER, YOU BITCH!”- Mrs. Weasley }

{“The thing about growing up with Fred and George,” said Ginny thoughtfully, “is that you sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.” – Ginny Weasley}

{“Sometimes you remind me a lot of James. He called it my ‘furry little problem’ in company. Many people were under the impression that I owned a badly behaved rabbit.” – Remus Lupin}

{“Oh, Potter, you rotter, oh, what have you done, You’re killing off students, you think it’s good fun.” – Peeves}

{“Thing was they bit off a bit more than theycould chew with Gran. Little old witch living alone, they probably thought they didn’t need to send anyone particularly powerful. Anyway,” Neville laughed, “Dawlish is still in St. Mungo’s and Gran’s on the run.” – Neville Longbottom}

{“If you die down there, you’re welcome to share my toilet.” – Moaning Myrtle}

{“Greatness inspires envy, envy engenders spite, spite spawns lies. You must know this, Dumbledore.” – Lord Voldemort}

{“You said to us once before,” said Hermione quietly, “that there was time to turn back if we wanted to. We’ve had time, haven’t we?” – Hermione}

{“Listen, if you [Fred and George] don’t take it [the gold], I’m throwing it down the drain. I don’t want it and I don’t need it. But I could do with a few laughs. We could all do with a few laughs. I’ve got a feeling we’re going to need them more than usual before long.” – Harry Potter}

{“Azkaban – the wizard’s prison, Goyle. Honestly, if you were any slower, you’d be going backwards.” – Draco}

{“Kreacher is cleaning,” the elf repeated. “Kreacher lives to serve the noble house of Black–”
“–and it’s getting blacker every day, it’s filthy,” said Sirius. – Sirius and Kreacher}

{“Accio Brain!” – Ron”}

{“And now Harry, let us step out into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.” – Dumbledore}

{“Fred and George tried to get me to make one [Unbreakable Vow] when I was about five. I nearly did, too, I was holding hands with Fred and everything when Dad founds us. He went mental,” sid Ron, with a reminiscent gleam in his eyes. “Only time I’ve ever seen Dad as angry as Mum. Fred reckons his left buttock has never been the same since.” – Ron}

{“It is not our abilities that show what we truly are. It is our choices.” – Dumbledore}

By the way … it is a big disappointment that I didn’t go to a school such as Hogwarts.

Much Love,

♥Kiki

Leave a Reply

