Shine On ♥

I believe that it’s a good idea to reflect after one’s passing. It helps, or at least I think it does. I can recall nearly every single goodbye I have had to say. Some goodbyes were my choice. In my humble opinion the word “goodbye” sucks. It is perhaps one of the most difficult words in the English language to say.

The real reason I’m writing this though is to reflect on one person who only recently died (she strongly disliked the term “passed away” or so I’ve been warned lol) and she was my Grammy-Pat. I was blessed with the opportunity to say goodbye and anything else I needed to say to her before it happened and I am truly grateful for that (the one thing she was sad about was not getting to see the end of the Harry Potter movies). I was even more blessed to have incredible last words of wisdom passed on to me from her. Advice to keep me going, to inspire me, to motivate me, to move me, etc. Aside from promises of success in my dreams and to have her as my motivation (along with quitting biting my nails haha) and reading some of her favourite books, she told me “to stop falling and to find my happiness”. Anyone who really knows me will know how much that statement means to me. It is the most perfect advice given to me at this point in my life. I needed it.

Saturday was a difficult day. Lots of tears but also laughter. I spoke briefly of one of her favourite songs “the muggy song” and did a reading. It was an honour, her asking me to do that for her.

She was one of the most incredible women I have known and I am so blessed to have had her in my life. I will always cherish our Friday night movies, the “muggy song” (+ Alice hehe), talking about Japan, margaritas, dinners and Harry Potter. I love you and will always remember you, thank you Grammy-Pat.

Much Love,

♥Kiki

Me and Grammy-Pat on "Debbie Day"


Leave a comment