An ode to old home videos ♥

I have always been teased for being a “camera whore”. My parents always snapped my photo as a child and growing up. They wanted me to remember my life in photographs because they were not as fortunate to have so many photos. I’m happy that they did. In part it has made me the person that I am today. Model. Girl who has black and white photographic memories posted all over her room. Around 60 facebook albums. Slideshows. Simply put, I love photos.  I love memories. I also love home videos.

Some of my most cherished possessions truly are my photos and my home videos. They are key reminders of the life I’ve lived thus far,  the people I’ve known and loved, and the various stages of awkward growth I’ve gone through in it all. Watching some of the clips sometimes makes me embarrassed at how ridiculous of a teenager I was (alas, we all were ridiculous in our own ways). Some of the clips make me smack my head and think “I can’t believe I forgot about that!” Some of them make me howl in laughter because I remember the inside jokes.

Looking back, it’s a whole lot of fun and sometimes it is a “fun” that I miss.

I suppose anyone who looks back will always slightly yearn for the people they knew who came and left so quickly. When we look back, or at least when I look back, I can mostly remember the wonderful, hilarious, yet sometimes humiliating, fun-tastic times I’ve had with each person who has come and left their mark on me. I guess I’m forever imprinted upon. I have to say that I am so blessed to have some of these people still be part of my life.

Since I haven’t any videos of me from twelve years and younger, all of my home videos range between the ages of thirteen to the present day. I really do wish we had videos of when I was a youngster but nothing will make that wish come true lol. Fortunate for me, I have a strong recollection of those times and plan to write them in a journal forever to be in some form of print. I am happy to have videos of my teenage years though and I look forward to the day when they are all finally transferred onto DVD!

I know that I can never go back and nor would I want to. I’m truly happy where I am in my life. It’s a far step from where I was as a twelve a year old.

Sometimes though you just can’t help but wish to say to certain people that “no matter what the future holds or what’s to come, I love you and I’ll always remember you, and thank you.”

Much love,

♥Kiki

PS I am proud to be a camera whore :P! Thanks mom and dad!

summer of 2004 with Nikki and Kayla

karaoke at Meaghan's

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a favourite from grade 8 : Vitamin C’s Graduation

Leave a Reply

